About Us

To us, at the Sri Lanka Cancer Society a cancer patient is a human being deserving of great care, protection and a better quality of life. Our mission therefore has a singular focus, to provide the best care for cancer patients, irrespective of their cultural, social, ethnic or religious backgrounds.

Our hope is to see a world free of cancer but until then, we strive to provide solace and care to needy  cancer patients primarily through our two facilities. The first is ‘Shantha Sevena’ a hospice for the  care of terminally ill Cancer patients. The second is the ‘Bandaranaike Memorial Cancer Homes” a transit home & care facility for Cancer patients receiving treatment at the Maharagama Cancer Institute.

Since our inauguration in 1948, we have steadily expanded our services throughout the island and in 1997 the society was incorporated by an Act of Parliament. Today, we are the foremost voluntary help organization in Sri Lanka, and a member of the Union of International Cancer Control (UICC), Geneva, dedicated to battling the disease through education, advocacy and service whilst easing the suffering of those stricken with Cancer.

Executive Committee

Members are a distinguished group of individuals who have made a name for themselves in their respective fields and industries. Their time and dedication to this cause is noteworthy. All financial contributions are managed with full transparency in all processes while the funds are distributed to the respective projects and facilities in a timely and efficient manner.

Chairperson : Ms. Anoja Karunaratne
Deputy Chairperson : Ms. Dulsiri Jayasinghe
General Secretary : Ms. Perin Captain
Asst. Secretary : Mrs. M.C. Thambyah
Hony. Treasurer : Mr. Razik Mohamed
Hony. Asst. Treasurer :  Ms. Indulekha Karunaratne

Patron : The Hon’ble Minister of Health
President : Mr. E.P. Mannakkara
Vice Presidents : Mr. A.J.B. Anghie
Mr. K.B. Ambanpola
Dr. P.A. Gooneratne
Mrs. Veena Jayasundera

Mrs. Shantha Abeysekera
Mrs. Hyacinth de Rosayro
Mrs. Nedra Hewavitarne
Mrs. Indrani Nanayakkara
Mr. Anura Perera

Justice Shirani Tilakawardena
Mrs. Amila Attygalle
Ms. Surekha Gardiner
Dr. Neelamani Paranagama
Mrs. Manique Gunasekera